Special Services

The Department of Special Education provides quality coordinated special education programs and other related support services for 974 students with disabilities as mandated by N.J. C.A 6A:14. Twenty-seven dedicated full time professionals coordinate the provision of seven distinctly different programs and multiple related services to 15 in-district schools and many out of district schools. Special Education programs are also critical in the development of activities to address a variety of global school-based issues and concerns surrounding achievement and maximizing student potential. The department provides professional development for district support personnel in areas of state mandated training, best practices for instruction and specific areas of disabilities.

Additionally the department works collaboratively with general education programs and Intervention and Referral Services to provide early intervening services and reduce referrals with programs to assist students whose academic performance is negatively impacted by academic, social, emotional, behavior and health issues.

Tangible/Measurable Evidence

  • Increase inclusive programming throughout the district
  • Support district staff on all Special Education Program Mandates
  • Expand district programming to include all students with special needs
  • Improve student achievement

Special Education Programs

Project Child Find

 

Contact Information
General Contact Information
1200 Myrtle Ave
Plainfield, New Jersey 07063
Room 306
Telephone: 908-731-4379
Fax: 908-731-4404

Ms. Elizabeth Filippatos
Executive Director of Special Services
efilippatos@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Ms. Alicia Archibald
Supervisor of Special Services
aarchibald@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Shana Solomon-Christian 5235
ssolomonc@plainfield.k12.nj.us
Child Study Teams Coordinator

Secretaries: Ext:
Sharon Lopresti 5195 sblopresti@plainfied.k12.nj.us
Joanne Brown 5196 Jbrown@plainfield.k12.nj.us



Rosita Blackman 5197 rblackman@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Child Study Teams and Related Services Providers

LDT-Cs Ext.

School Psychologists Ext.

Social Workers Ext

 

 

mgrant@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Donna Brown 5332 dbrown@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

Claudine Lewis 5203
clewis@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Robert Larsen 5206
rlarsen@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Kanan Shah 5210
kshah@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

Tabitha Wamakema 5249
twamakema@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Sandra Smiley 5201
ssmiley@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Melissa Remo 5204
mremo@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Cindi Eckstein 5201
ceckstein@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Leorah Weiss 5200
lweiss@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 

Lucero Marques 5208
lmarques@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Claudia Branco 5475
cbranco@plainfield.k12.nj.us

 




Karen Richards 5111
krichards@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Psychiatrist

Neurologist

Speech Specialists

Dr. Nancy Durant

Dr. Kavita Sinha

 

Behaviorists

 

Ayesha Howard
azhoward@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Patty Lewis
plewis@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Lissette Ferreras 
lferreras@plainfield.k12.nj.us 

Tamara Griffith 
tgriffith@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Laurel Thurston
lthurston@plainfield.k12.nj.us

Courtney Regula 
cregula@plainfield.k12.nj.us


 


Plainfield Public School's Teaching Staff
View teaching staff listed by school